Institute of Process Engineering in Life Sciences Food Process Engineering
ER Eva Rütten

M.Sc. Eva Rütten

  • Postanschrift: Kaiserstr. 12
    Liefer- und Besucheranschrift: Gotthard-Franz-Straße 3
    Geb. 50.31, 4. OG
    D-76131 Karlsruhe

About me:

I completed my studies in chemical and process engineering at KIT from 2012 to 2019. During my bachelor's degree, I focused on food process engineering and thus had my first contact with the institute. My bachelor thesis was in the field of the formulation of melt emulsions by high-pressure homogenization. In the Master's program, I specialized in mechanical process engineering and gas-particle systems. I was able to extend my studies by a stay abroad at the NTNU in Trondheim. After finishing my master thesis on cavitation in the process of simultaneous emulsification and mixing, I have been working as a research assistant at the Research Group Emulsification Technologies since November 2019.

 

Research interests:

High-pressure homogenization is state of the art to produce emulsions with small droplet sizes. During the process different stresses occur. In addition to strain, shear and turbulence, cavitation can also occur due to the high acceleration of the fluid. The influence of cavitation on the local flow parameters could not be fully investigated so far. Therefore, I am currently working on the influence of cavitation on the flow in the high-pressure homogenization process. By investigating stress profiles along the streamlines, conclusions on the differences of the flow parameters in cavitating and non cavitating flow are to be drawn.

 

Methods:

Both experimental and numerical methods are used. Orifices are used for experimental investigations of the process. The process is operated with a two-piston pump. For the visualization of the cavitation an optically accessible downstream is used. With the help of a high-speed camera, so-called shadow images are recorded in this area and evaluated by means of image processing in Matlab. Since the flow cannot be observed experimentally in the entire process, it is modelled by a CFD simulation in Ansys Fluent. Experimentally determined data such as mass flow, outlet pressure and temperatures are used as boundary conditions. The validation of the simulation is done by means of the inlet pressure.

ER Eva Rütten

M.Sc. Eva Rütten

  • Postanschrift: Kaiserstr. 12
    Liefer- und Besucheranschrift: Gotthard-Franz-Straße 3
    Geb. 50.31, 4. OG
    D-76131 Karlsruhe

Zu meiner Person

Mein Studium im Studiengang Chemieingenieurwesen und Verfahrenstechnik absolvierte ich von 2012 bis 2019 am KIT. Während meines Bachelors belegte ich das Profilfach Lebensmittelverfahrenstechnik und hatte so ersten Kontakt zum Institut. Meine Bachelorarbeit war im Bereich der Herstellung von Schmelzemulsionen mittels Hochdruckhomogenisation angesiedelt. Im Master belegte ich die Vertiefungsrichtungen mechanische Verfahrenstechnik und Gas-Partikel-Systeme. Mein Studium konnte ich durch einen Auslandsaufenthalt an der NTNU in Trondheim ergänzen. Nach Abschluss der Masterarbeit zum Thema Kavitation im Prozess des Simultanen Emulgieren und Mischens arbeite ich nun seit November 2019 als wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin am Teilinstitut für Lebensmittelverfahrenstechnik.

Forschungsschwerpunkte

Hochdruckhomogenisation wird benutzt, um Emulsionen mit kleinen Tropfendurchmessern herzustellen. Im Prozess treten verschiedenen Spannungen auf. Neben Dehnung, Scherung und Turbulenz kann es durch die hohe Beschleunigung der Flüssigkeit auch zum Auftreten von Kavitation kommen. Der Einfluss der Kavitation auf die lokalen Strömungsparameter konnte bisher nicht vollständig ermittelt werden. Daher beschäftige ich mich aktuell mit dem Einfluss von Kavitation auf die Strömung im Hochdruckhomogenisationsprozess. Durch die Ermittlung von Belastungshistorien auf den Stromlinien sollen Rückschlüsse auf die Unterschiede der Strömungsparameter in kavitierender und kavitationsfreier Strömung gezogen werden.

Methoden

Es werden sowohl experimentelle, als auch numerische Methoden genutzt. Zur experimentellen Untersuchungen des Prozesses werden Lochblenden verwendet. Der Prozess wird mit einer Zweikolbenpumpe betrieben. Zur Visualisierung der Kavitation wird ein optisch zugänglicher Nachlauf genutzt. Mit Hilfe einer Hochgeschwindigkeitskamera werden in diesem Bereich so genannte Schattenbilder aufgenommen und mittels Bildbearbeitung in Matlab ausgewertet. Da die Strömung nicht im gesamten Prozess experimentell betrachtet werden kann, wird diese durch eine CFD Simulation in Ansys Fluent modelliert. Als Randbedingungen werden experimentell ermittelte Daten, wie der Massenstrom, der Ausgangsdruck und die Temperaturen, genutzt.

 

Aktuelle Angebote für Bachelor- und Masterarbeiten
Titel Datum Typ Betreuer

Zeitschriften


2022
Influence of the droplet trajectory on the resulting droplet deformation and droplet size distribution in high‐pressure homogenizer orifices
Preiss, F. J.; Rütten, E.; Tröster, A.; Gräf, V.; Karbstein, H. P.
2022. The Canadian Journal of Chemical Engineering. doi:10.1002/cjce.24363

Vorträge


Poster


2020
Investigation of the Influence of Cavitation on the Fluid Flow in High- Pressure Homogenization Nozzles using CFD Simulations
Rütten, E.; Gall, V.; Karbstein, H. P.
2020, März 9. 4th Spring School: Lattice Boltzmann Methods with OpenLB Software Lab (2020), Berlin, Deutschland, 9.–13. März 2020