Food Process Engineering (LVT)

Curriculum Vitae

Name:
Dr. Volker Gaukel

Date of birth:
1968 in Heidelberg
 

 Education: 01.10.90 - 31.03.96 University study of chemical engineering at the University of Karlsruhe. Specialising in food process engineering and water technology; Qualification: Dipl.-Ing.
  01.10.95 - 31.03.96 Final project („Diplomarbeit“) at the Federal Research Centre for Nutrition (Institute of Process Engineering). Subject: Recrystallisation of ice under oscillating temperatures in a model solution for ice cream.
 

 

 Professional: 01.04.96 - 15.10.02  Research associate at the Federal Research Centre for Nutrition (Institute of Process Engineering). Special interest in freezing (crystallisation, recrystallisation), freeze drying and frozen storage of foods. Manager of 3rd Karlsruhe Nutrition Symposium 1998
  since 16.10.02 Research associate and lecturer at the Section Food Process Engineering of University Karlsruhe and deputy head of Institute. Research Focuses: Design of frozen foods. Deputy head of Institute
  May 2004 Dissertation at the University of Stuttgart-Hohenheim, Title: Dr. rer. nat.: Influence of antifreeze proteins on the recrystallisation of ice during frozen storage of a model solution for ice cream.
  since 01/2009 Head of department "Thermopysical Processes for Foods". Research Focuses on: Design of frozen foods, Development of instant foods and snacks with functional properties, Design of microwave heated processes and spraydrying.

Home | english  | Impressum | KIT

Lebenslauf

Name:
Dr. Volker Gaukel

Geboren:
1968 in Heidelberg

Ausbildungsdaten:
 

 

 Studium 01.10.90 - 31.03.96 Studiengang Chemieingenieurwesen an der Universität Karlsruhe mit den Hauptfächern Lebensmittel­verfahrenstechnik und Wassertechnologie 
  01.10.95 - 31.03.96 Diplomarbeit an der Bundesforschungsanstalt für Ernährung, Karlsruhe (Institut für Verfahrenstechnik) bei Prof. Dr. W.E.L. Spieß. Thema: Rekristallisation von Eis bei Temperaturschwankungen in Hydrokolloidlösungen als Modellösungen für Eiskrem

 

 

 

 Beruf: 01.04.96 - 15.10.02  Wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter an der Bundesforschungsanstalt für Ernährung. Arbeiten zur Kristallisation und Rekristallisation von Eis, zur Optimierung von Gefriertrocknungsprozessen und zur Gefrierlagerung von Lebensmitteln. Mitarbeit in europäischen Arbeitsruppen und Kongressmanager der 3. Karlsruher Ernährungstage 1998
  seit 16.10.02

Geschäftsführer und Dozent am Institut für Bio- und Lebensmitteltechnik, Bereich I: Lebensmittelverfahrenstechnik des KIT 

  Mai 2004 Promotion an der Universität Hohenheim zum Dr. rer. nat.: Titel: Untersuchungen zum Einfluss von Antigefrierproteinen auf die Rekristallisation von Eis während der Gefrierlagerung, dargestellt an Modelllösungen für Eiskrem
  seit 01/2009 Leitung des Arbeitsbereichs themophysikalische Verarbeitungsprozesse mit Arbeiten zur Lebensmitteltrocknung, insbesondere unter Einsatz von Mikrowellen sowie zur Sprühtrocknung und zum Gefrieren
  seit 08/2015

KIT-Associate Fellow