Home | deutsch  | Legals | KIT
Contact:
Em

Dr.-Ing. M. Azad Emin

KIT - Research Group Leader

Email

+49 721 608 48311

Gotthard-Franz-Straße 3
Geb. 50.31, 4. OG
D-76131 Karlsruhe

Patrick_Bild

M.Sc. Patrick Wittek

Extrusion
group: 

Extrusion


room: 403
phone: +49 721 608 42196
fax: +49 721 608 45967
patrick wittekSsv4∂kit edu

Postanschrift: Kaiserstr. 12
Liefer- und Besucheranschrift: Gotthard-Franz-Straße 3
Geb. 50.31, 4. OG
D-76131 Karlsruhe


About me

During the study of chemical and process engineering at KIT, I discovered my interest in food process engineering. In my bachelor thesis, I worked intensively on the research field of food extrusion. A six-month internship at Lorenz Bahlsen Snack World GmbH granted me first insights on the industrial practice of food technology. To enhance my personal profile, I researched on computational modelling of food extrusion for six months at CSIRO in Melbourne. I finished my study of chemical and process engineering with a master thesis on protein extrusion at LVT, where I then started my doctoral studies in January 2017 as part of my work as a research scientist in the research group “Extrusion of biopolymeric materials”.

Research interests

Currently, my research interest lies in modelling of the extrusion process, with a focus on the investigation of complex flow phenomena. Multicomponent raw materials are used in extrusion, whereby every component influences the process individually. In the resulting multiphase systems, molecular, thermodynamical and rheological aspects determine how micro and macro structuring inside the material develop. These structuring mechanism define the product properties significantly, which is why the knowledge about (flow) mechanisms in the extrusion process is crucial for tailer-made product design.

Methods

The extrusion trials are performed on the institute's co-rotating twin-screw extruder. The modular design of the extruder allows high flexibility of the process conditions while ensuring best controllability. Rheological data is determined within the process using an inline rheometer. To complement inline rheometry data, a closed cavity rheometer can be used. Changes in the rheological properties due to thermomechanical treatment are directly indicated. This provides exemplary insights into the extrusion process. The characterization of flow phenomena in the process is carried out with numerical fluid simulation (CFD). Non-isothermal and non-newtonian simulations give information about specific process operations, that are otherwise not accessible via conventional measurement devices.

Home | english  | Impressum | KIT
Contact:
Em

Dr.-Ing. M. Azad Emin

KIT - Research Group Leader

Email

+49 721 608 48311

Gotthard-Franz-Straße 3
Geb. 50.31, 4. OG
D-76131 Karlsruhe

Patrick_Bild

M.Sc. Patrick Wittek

Gruppe: 

Extrusion


Raum: 403
Tel.: +49 721 608 42196
Fax: +49 721 608 45967
patrick wittekKbf6∂kit edu

Postanschrift: Kaiserstr. 12
Liefer- und Besucheranschrift: Gotthard-Franz-Straße 3
Geb. 50.31, 4. OG
D-76131 Karlsruhe


Zu meiner Person

Mein Interesse an der Lebensmittelverfahrenstechnik entdeckte ich während meines Studiums des Chemieingenieurwesens am KIT. In meiner Bachelorarbeit beschäftigte ich mich intensiv mit der Modellierung der Lebensmittelextrusion. Ein 6-monatiges Praktikum bei der Lorenz Bahlsen Snack World GmbH gewährte mir erste Einblicke in die Praxis der Lebensmittelindustrie. Um mein Profil weiter zu schärfen, forschte ich sechs Monate bei der australischen CSIRO in Melbourne an der numerischen Modellierung der Lebensmittelextrusion. Das Studium schloss ich mit einer Masterarbeit zum Thema „Proteinextrusion“ am LVT ab, wo ich seit Januar 2017 im Rahmen meiner Tätigkeit als wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter in der Forschungsgruppe „Extrusion“ promoviere.

Forschungsschwerpunkt

In meiner Forschung beschäftige ich mich mit der Modellierung des Extrusionsprozesses, wobei der Fokus auf der Untersuchung der komplexen Strömungsvorgänge liegt. In der Extrusion werden mehrkomponentige Rohstoffe verarbeitet, wobei jede Komponente den Prozess individuell beeinflusst. In den daraus resultierenden mehrphasigen Biopolymersystemen bestimmen molekulare, thermodynamische und rheologische Aspekte, wie die Mikro- und Makrostrukturierung ablaufen. Diese Strukturierung im Extruder definiert die Eigenschaften des Produkts maßgeblich, deswegen ist die Kenntnis der (Strömungs-) Vorgänge im Prozess elementar wichtig für eine zielorientierte Produktentwicklung. 

Methoden

Die Extrusionsversuche werden am institutseigenen gleichläufigen Doppelschneckenextruder durchgeführt. Der modulare Aufbau ermöglicht höchste Flexibilität bezüglich der Prozessbedingungen bei gleichzeitig bester Steuerbarkeit. Mithilfe eines Inline-Rheometers können rheologische Daten direkt im Prozess bestimmt werden. Unterstützend zur Inline -Rheometrie kann ein closed cavity rheometer (CCR) verwendet werden. Die Veränderung der rheologischen Eigenschaften in Abhängigkeit der thermomechanischen Belastung wird direkt abgebildet. Dadurch können modellhaft Aussagen über den Extrusionsprozess getroffen werden. Die Strömungscharakterisierung des Prozesses erfolgt durch numerische Strömungssimulation. Die nicht-isotherme und nicht-newtonsche Simulation liefert Informationen über Prozessvorgänge, welche durch konventionelle Messgeräte nicht bestimmbar sind.