Institute of Process Engineering in Life SciencesFood Process Engineering
MT

M.Sc. Martha Taboada

  • Postanschrift: Kaiserstr. 12
    Liefer- und Besucheranschrift: Gotthard-Franz-Straße 3
    Geb. 50.31, 4. OG
    D-76131 Karlsruhe

About me

I come originally from Colombia, where I graduated with a Bachelor's degree in Chemical Engineering from the Universidad de Los Andes. After an exchange semester in Germany I decided to do my Master in Bio- and Chemical Engineering at the TUHH in Hamburg. During my master's degree I worked as a working student at Beiersdorf AG, where I was involved in process development for the manufacture of emulsified products. I came to the topic of food process engineering during my master's degree, which I completed with my master's thesis on the production of starch-based aerogel particles. Since August 2017 I have been doing my doctorate at the LVT in the field of spray drying of emulsions.  


Main areas of research

Milk protein based emulsions are the basis of a variety of powdery products such as coffee whiteners, creamer and baby food. Spray drying is a common process to produce storable powders from emulsion-based systems. The structure of the dried product is responsible for the properties of the dissolved food. Therefore, it is important to know and control the influence of spray drying on this structure. In my research I consider the effect of process and formulation parameters on the resulting structure of the emulsion after atomization and spray drying.  


Methods

Atomisation tests can be carried out at the institute's own spray stand, which enables online measurement of the spray droplet size distribution by means of laser diffraction spectroscopy and sampling of the atomised emulsion. A pilot plant spray tower with up to 20 kg water evaporation is available for drying tests. For the characterization of the emulsions and the powder produced, common analytical methods such as laser diffraction, light microscopy and rheometry are used. 

poster
titel date authors reference
2019

Taboada, Martha L.; Karbstein, Heike P.; Gaukel, Volker

Jahrestreffen der ProcessNetFachgruppe Lebensmittelverfahrenstechnik, 5. – 6. März 2019, Lausanne

lectures
titel date authors reference
2019

Taboada, Martha L.; Karbstein, Heike P.; Gaukel, Volker

Proceedings ILASS–Europe 2019, 29th Conference on Liquid Atomization and Spray Systems, 2-4 September 2019, Paris, France

proceedings
titel date authors reference
2019

Taboada, Martha L.; Karbstein, Heike P.; Gaukel, Volker

Proceedings ILASS–Europe 2019, 29th Conference on Liquid Atomization and Spray Systems, 2-4 September 2019, Paris, France

Journals
title date authors reference
2020

Baudron, V., Taboada, M., Gurikov, P. et al.

Colloid Polym Sci (2020) online available

2020

Taboada, Martha L.; Leister, Nico; Karbstein, Heike P.; Gaukel,Volker

ChemEngineering, 4, 47. (online available: https://www.mdpi.com/2305-7084/4/3/47)

Home | english  | Impressum | Datenschutz | KIT
Volker_Gaukel

Dr. rer. nat. Dr.-Ing. Volker Gaukel

Akademischer Oberrat

Email

+49 721 608 48612

Gotthard-Franz-Straße 3
Geb. 50.31, 4. OG
D-76131 Karlsruhe

MT

M.Sc. Martha Taboada

Gruppe: 

Gestaltung effizienter Gefrier- und Trocknungsprozesse


Raum: 406
Tel.: +49 721 608 43614
Fax: +49 721 608 45967
martha taboadaFao9∂kit edu

Postanschrift: Kaiserstr. 12
Liefer- und Besucheranschrift: Gotthard-Franz-Straße 3
Geb. 50.31, 4. OG
D-76131 Karlsruhe


Zu meiner Person

Ich komme ursprünglich aus Kolumbien, wo ich mein Bachelor in Chemieingenieurwesen an der Universidad de Los Andes absolviert habe. Nach einem Austauchsemester in Deutschland beschloss ich, mein Master in Bio- und Chemieingenieurwesen an der TUHH in Hamburg zu machen. Während meines Masterstudiums habe ich als Werkstudentin bei Beiersdorf AG gearbeitet, wo ich mich mit der Prozessentwicklung zur Herstellung emulgierter Produkte beschäftigt habe. Zum Thema Lebensmittelverfahrenstechnik bin ich während meines Masterstudiums gekommen, welches ich mit meiner Masterarbeit zur Herstellung von stärkebasierten Aerogel Partikeln abgeschlossen habe. Seit August 2017 promoviere ich an der LVT im Bereich der Sprühtrocknung von Emulsionen.  

 

Forschungsschwerpunkte

Milchproteinbasierte Emulsionen sind die Grundlage einer Vielzahl von pulverförmigen Produkten, wie z.B. Kaffeeweißer, Creamer und Babynahrung. Die Sprühtrocknung ist ein verbreiteter Prozess, um aus emulsionbasierten Systemen lagerfähige Pulver zu erzeugen. Die Struktur des getrockneten Produktes ist für die Eigenschaften des wieder gelösten Lebensmittels verantwortlich. Deswegen ist es wichtig, den Einfluss der Sprühtrocknung auf diese Struktur zu kennen und zu beherrschen. In meiner Forschung betrachte ich die Auswirkung von Prozess- und Formulierungsparameter auf die resultierende Struktur der Emulsion nach der Zerstäubung und Sprühtrocknung.  

 

Methoden

Zerstäubungsversuche können am institutseigenen Sprühstand durchgeführt werden, welcher eine Online-Messung der Sprühtropfengrößenverteilung mittels Laserbeugungsspektroskopie und eine Probenahme der zerstäubte Emulsion ermöglicht. Für Trocknungsversuche steht ein Technikumssprühturm mit bis zu 20 kg Wasserverdampfung zur Verfügung. Für die Charakterisierung der Emulsionen und des erzeugten Pulvers werden gängige Analyseverfahren wie z.B. Laserdiffraktometrie, Lichtmikroskopie und Rheometrie eingesetzt. 

Aktuelle Angebote für Bachelor- und Masterarbeiten
Titel Datum Typ Betreuer
ab sofort BA/MA